How to Delete Facebook Messages

Facebook messenger is one of the best social media platforms which people use to connect and having fun with friends, family and others.  Facebook messenger is connected to Facebook and you can use separate Facebook messenger on the phone.  Facebook is a great way for users to have a private conversation, and to say something that you cannot say in front. It is common that you make mistakes while sending messages or instantly regret sending a message.

If you also did any mistake last time and couldn’t do something and regret it for all eternity. Now, this is no longer the case. Not only single thread-you can also archive and delete entire threads you no longer wish to look at.  Deleting Facebook messages on your Desktop or mobile device takes mere seconds to delete Facebook messages. But if you want to delete the whole chats only applies to your own inbox, not someone else’s. Let’s see how to do so:

How to Delete Facebook Messages

Go to your browser on your desktop and open Facebook. Login into your Facebook like you normally would.

Click the Chat button in the upper right corner, followed by See All in Messenger. The latter option is located in the bottom-left.

Delete Facebook Messages

If you want to delete the complete chat thread, fly the cursor over the conversation and click the Three Horizontal Dots icon on the right side of the messages in your inbox. Now, tap on “Delete” from the pop-up menu. Once you click, it will show you with three options: Cancel, Delete, or Hide Conversation. Click Delete to continue.

How to Delete Facebook Messages

If you want to delete a part of your conversation, open the conversation and hover over the particular messages you would like to delete and select the message by tap and hold. Click the Three Horizontal Dots and press Remove.

delete and select the message

Bear in mind that if it’s been less than 10 minutes since you’ve sent the message, you will then be given the option to remove the message for everyone or just by yourself. Once you’ve made your selection, press Remove.

Note: Once you’ve deleted the messages the other person will be able to see that you removed a message. if you choose the “for everyone” option, but the content will no longer available to see. If it’s been more than 10 minutes, you’ll be only able to remove the message for yourself.

How to Delete the Message on Mobile

Download the Messenger app on your phone-iOS or Android device from the Google Play Store or App Store.

If you want to delete an entire conversation, press and hold down the conversation, or if you’re an iOS user, swipe the chats to the left and then select the Red Trash Can. Both Android and iOS users will then need to select Delete to confirm.

How to Delete the Message on Mobile

On the other side, if you want to delete a single message, open the conversation, and hold down the message you want to delete, and click Remove at the bottom. You can select Remove for you and then select Remove again to delete the message.

delete a single message

If it’s been less than 10 minutes, you will get two options at the second’s last step which is “Remove for you” and “Remove for everyone”. If you select the first option the message will be deleted for you only and if you select the option “Remove for everyone.”

Note: Android and iOS users will follow all this process as this is the same on both devices. Except the last option says “last confirmation remove” for the iOS users.

Note: Once you’ve deleted the messages the other person will be able to see that you removed a message if you choose the “for everyone” option, but the content will no longer available to see. If it’s been more than 10 minutes, you’ll be only able to remove the message for yourself.

How to Delete Facebook Account

Whether for any reason you are delete your Facebook account, make sure about it before proceeding with any activity. However, Facebook provides various benefits for its users, and at the same, we present some of the advantages while you’re thinking of deleting your account.

Besides deleting your account, you can deactivate your account. You may think what is Facebook account Deactivation? Let me tell you Facebook deactivation is just like you delete your account but in this, you can re-login or activate your account after a while. Facebook deactivation puts your account off, hide your profile, no one can see your post. And all other things will be hidden from your friend’s list or from the new one.

When you feel good and want to back on your profile, go to the Facebook login page on the browser and enter your credentials (email id and password) and it will ask you one confirmation if you want to activate your account and confirm.

The second option is to delete your account permanently, you will get a benefit in this as well. You can recover or cancel account deletion before the 30 days of account deletion.

Let’s see how you can delete your Facebook account: Read on.

How to Deactivate Account

Login to your Facebook account on the desktop and click on the downward-facing arrow in the top right corner of the screen, and then select “Settings” from the list.

your Facebook account on the desktop

Next, from the pane on the left, click “Your Facebook Information” and then choose “Deactivation and Deletion” from the list of options.

Your Facebook Information

Select the button next to “Deactivate Account” and then click the “Continue to Account Deactivation” button to proceed.

Continue to Account Deactivation

Here, you have to provide a reason why you are leaving Facebook. Select from the list of options, give further explanation-if needed-opt-out of future emails, and choose whether to keep using Messenger. Once you filled out the form, hit the ‘Deactivate” button.

Deactivate

Facebook will ask for your confirmation. Read the message and click “Deactivate Now” when you’re ready to continue.

It’s done. You will redirect to the Facebook login page.

Note: If you want to reactivate your account then go back to the Facebook login page and enter your credentials (email id and password) and it will ask you one confirmation if you want to activate your account and confirm.

How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently

Before you delete your account make sure to back up your information from the company’s server.  Facebook has a tool to help you download all your data in one manageable ZIP file.

How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently

To download your information from Facebook; Go to “Your Facebook Information page” in Settings.

Fire up a browser and head to your Facebook setting page, click “Your Facebook Information” and then select the “Deactivation and Deletion” option from the list of sets available.

Deactivation and Deletion

Click the box next to “Permanently Delete Account” and then click “Continue to Account Deletion” when you’re ready to proceed.

Before you go on, Facebook will give you the notifications that go along with permanently deleting your account. Back up any of the data you want to save and if you’re sure this is the right choice for you, click the “Delete Account” button.

permanently deleting your account

For security, you need to enter your password to delete your account. Enter your password and click “Continue” after doing so.

enter your password to delete your account

Facebook prompts you the final message informing you that in case you change your mind and want to cancel the delete. The company will hold onto your profile and data for 30 days. Click the “Delete Account” button to proceed.

Delete Account

That’s it. You will redirect to the Facebook login page.

Note: Even though you have chosen to delete your account, there is still a 30-day window to reactivate your account or you can recover or cancel account deletion before the 30 days of account deletion.

0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.